Adele speaks straight from my heart…

I loved Adele from the first moment I heard her. She’s gorgeous in every way (you know, as a personality…I’ve no clue how she is in real life, but in my mind she’s a goddess of the first order). When I listen to her lyrics, it’s like she crept into some universal woman’s heart, and speaks about the whole experience, pulling it out and hanging it up like a flag to be noticed.

Case in point, my favorite song of hers for the next few minutes at least, Right as Rain, has these lyrics:

Who wants to be riding high
When you’ll just crumble back on down
You give up everything you are
And even then you don’t get far
They make believe that everything
Is exactly what it seems
But at least when you’re at your worst
You know how to feel things

And another favorite lyric from Turning Tables:

Next time I’ll be braver
I’ll be my own savior
When the thunder comes for me
Next time I’ll be braver
I’ll be my own savior
Standing on my own two feet

Her lyrics are AMAZING. I never had that experience in high school of feeling like a songwriter completely captured what I was feeling, so this is a first love for me, in a way.

     I have not yet figured out how to link a sample of the songs to my blog posts, but it’s on my list of technical things to learn…right after learning Photoshop and how to actually take nice pictures.

I’m growing…

One thought on “Adele speaks straight from my heart…

  1. Oh girl, I know exactly what you mean. She is amazing! Glad you got through her new album — I would almost dare to say it is better than her first.

    The songs that speak to me are:

    ~Someone Like You~
    I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited,
    But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it,
    I had hoped you’d see my face,
    And that you’d be reminded that for me it isn’t over,

    Never mind, I’ll find someone like you,
    I wish nothing but the best for you, too,
    Don’t forget me, I beg,
    I remember you said,
    “Sometimes it lasts in love,
    But sometimes it hurts instead,”
    Sometimes it lasts in love,
    But sometimes it hurts instead, yeah,

    ~One and Only~
    I don’t know why I’m scared, I’ve been here before
    Every feeling every word, I’ve imagined it all,
    You never know if you never tried to forgive your past
    And simply be mine

    I dare you to let me be all, the one and only
    Promise I’m worthy to hold in your arms
    So come on and give me the chance
    To prove up I’m the one who can
    Walk them miles
    Until the air starts
    … on your mind

Leave a Reply

