As a teacher, this is painful to watch

As I’ve said in the past, I’ll go political on this blog. It’s either this post, or I have to go stand on my roof and scream at the sky. Or drink heavily. I still might do both of those things. But I finally saw this story on the news and have to comment on it:

Sarah Palin’s account of the ride of Paul Revere.

Okay, so it shows an absolutely stunning lack of meta-cognitive skills….then it got even more amazing….

Sarah Palin defends her point of view.

I understand the theater of politics….I still think it’s ridiculous, but I understand there is a human need for the ridiculous. How else can you explain “True Blood?”

But this….as a teacher, this is just painful. Extremely painful that this level of ignorance is allowed in the public sphere without lots of obvious ridicule.  As a Type A person, I like my ducks in a row. I like my objective information factual. I like smart people in charge.

Sarah Palin scares the hell out of me. To be so unapologetically ignorant of history and insisting that your gaff is actually correct just because you really need it to be is alarming in any public person of importance. Can we acknowledge as a country that while we may need political theater that it doesn’t have to be at the level of a 7th grade play? Can we agree as a nation that we want the smartest, most competent people in charge- nay, that we insist on it? Can we agree to set the bar just a little bit higher than Sarah Palin?

If we wanted a leader for their false “aw-shucks folks” persona, we’d have voted for them in ’08.

That’s right, I said it.

One thought on “As a teacher, this is painful to watch

Leave a Reply

