Some birthdays require a good scotch.

Yesterday I celebrated my 31st birthday.

Well, celebrated may be a strong word. I worked- intensely- all day. Had two work meetings, various customer service things to deal with, and maintenance to do.

My mom is a saint for tolerating us.

I got done exactly two of the birthday things I intended to do- I got to have dinner with my mom and brothers, and I got to go to an a capella concert in the evening to enjoy hearing Octaveperform. Everything else was eclipsed by work. It’s been a busy season. Getting multiple businesses off the ground can be a brain drain. And while I would not trade my current entrepreneurial education for anything, there are days where I’d give anything for a water cooler to bitch around about the latest call. Cause, you know, that helps.

So my birthday was a bit too businessy for my tastes. Lesson learned for next year.

One of my (many) recent projects has been to learn graphic design. PhotoShop, InDesign, photography, etc.  I’m in love with all visual elements of design right now. I want to learn more every day. This morning, I got up and learned myself how to create the new header that is at the top of this blog. I am so happy with myself! The new header is my melding of pixel size, photography and photoshop things I’ve learned this past week. Booyah!

I’ve also picked a name to publish my photography under. We’ll see where that goes. And, no, I’m not revealing the name yet. It’s still in project mode. When I have a watermark, I’ll release it.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Personal Motto for 31:            Name it.

I wanted a motto to focus on for this year, and to keep it simple.  One of the hardest things for me to do is name something. Whether it’s what I’m feeling or what someone else is doing, I seem to take forever calling something by it’s name. And since naming is so powerful, I have lost a lot of my power over the years. I’ve been working to improve on that, but now, for this time, it’s in the forefront.  Priority one.

Priority two is to become a better writer.

Priority three is to make it to Buddhist temple more often.

Priority four is to stop giving the finger to people driving the speed limit in the left lane.

I try.

Leave a comment