Road trips, holidays and Christmas music.

We are finishing up our vacation/road trip to Florida today with a 7.5 hour drive back to the colder locale of Atlanta. Then it’s further north to the (even colder) city of Asheville for the Thanksgiving holidays. Good food is worth the colder weather, and family is worth everything. I’m really looking forward to the holiday season this year.

Speaking of the holiday season- WHEN DID IT BECOME NOVEMBER? Where is 2011? My calendar runs out in less than two months! What the…huh?

I love the holidays, but this year has flown by amazingly fast. I’m staring at 2012 with a sense of numbness….like a frisbee that is getting bigger and bigger and I wonder why. And then it hits me.

That’s pretty much what every New Year’s Eve countdown is like for me now. And it’s about to get faster.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. I’m in Florida. It’s 72 degrees outside. I have to leave it today. Sad face.

We’ve had a great time with Michael and Jaya (and the DOOOOOGS!), visiting Grandpa Gus, and getting to meet Olivia (who is almost 7, and can count to 100. I heard her do it.) We finally, finally got something like an actual vacation at the beach. I got to stick my toes in sand. It was nice. We got to see sunsets, and let time slow down. Precious. We played card games and didn’t watch tv. We worked a good bit, sure, but it didn’t feel as hectic as it usually does. We only got stuck in traffic twice.  We ate good food. I didn’t have to wear gloves to bed once.

Florida…I love you. I’m a few decades away from living with you. Hope you understand. I’m just not ready. It’s not you, it’s me. You’re wonderful.

As for the upcoming journey through the perils of South Georgia, I have to say that it is visually interesting, in a ‘drive faster, I hear banjo music’ sort of way. Four hours or so of boring visuals until we hit Macon. Then it’s only two more hours of boring visuals, but you know Atlanta is coming, so it’s bearable.

Thanksgiving- can’t wait!

Christmas- can’t wait!

Family gatherings- can’t wait!

Lindy Focus X-  BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!  (You know what I mean if you’ve ever been to Lindy Focus. If you haven’t been, ask yourself why not.)

__________________________________________________________

P.S. NO ONE should be playing Christmas music before Halloween. I’m just saying. It should be a federal law.

Leave a Reply

