Easter Sunday Mayhem (family is always fun)

No, my title is not sarcastic.

I sincerely enjoy my family time each year on the holidays. I am enjoying it even more so this year due to the fact that our Easter celebration is the first time we’ve all gotten together since the Thanksgiving celebration- which I missed. So for me it’s been a long, long time since I’ve seen all of my Mom’s family in one place. It was riotous, hilarious, overwhelming, and went by too fast. I was exhausted by the time I left, and barely got to talk at length with anyone, including my own brothers. Such is the flavor of large family gatherings. Ah well…

Family Time

This weekend was full of family time. I got to see my Dad (who is a moving target most of the time, with his travel schedule), and we got to see Sosh’s parents when they stopped by on their way back from Spring Break in Florida. Everyone gets more and more excited about Baby H as July gets closer. We are excited and have now truly gotten into the phase of getting ready for her.

Chillin' after lunch...

Easter Sunday

In accordance with Easter tradition, my Mom’s family gathered at my grandmother’s house (after everyone had gone to their various houses of worship) for lunch- to eat, drink and be merry. For some, that meant watching the Masters on the couch and then falling asleep- the perfect Sunday, I’ve been told. For some, that meant sitting on the porch, stuffing our faces with good food. I’ll leave it to you to guess which group I was in.

Seeing everyone again was wonderful. Baby Howell got some hands-on loving energy from family members who can’t wait to meet her. I hope she felt it- she seemed to be asleep the whole time.

We lingered for most of the afternoon, catching up, eating and wandering around. I finally had to go lay down; I’m getting tired easier these days again. Like the first trimester, but bigger. My attempt to photo-document the afternoon was a failure, given that I was distracted by actually talking to people. So I’ve only got a few non-fuzzy pics of anything. I’ve got to work on that.

Pregnancy Update:

I am now almost 26 weeks along, which means my second trimester is drawing to a close. I am very much looking forward to meeting my daughter. And I’m looking forward to being able to sleep on my stomach again. It’s funny, what I’ve missed during the last six months. According to the experts on the Internets, she is the size (this week, anyway) of a hothouse cucumber, and weighs about 1.75 pounds. She should have normal brainwave activity now- which is fascinating to me- and be developing patterns of being asleep and awake. I’ve seen no evidence of this yet, so I remain unconvinced.

According to my doctor, she’s exactly where she should be, developmentally. And so am I. Personally, I feel like everything is still going well, and that’s the most I can say about this process of building a new life- each day is a little bit more than the day before, and each day brings us a little closer to a new beginning (syrupy, yes- but true).

According to HER, she likes Greek yogurt, live jazz, and dancing whenever I lay down. She goes nuts and starts kicking around whenever the situation suits her. So far, such simple pleasures! I was pretty proud to discover her affinity for live jazz while we were down in New Orleans last week during a dance event called Girl Jam 2012. Every time the jazz band would play, she’d start moving. I was one proud mama!

Summary

Easter Sunday was awesome for family time! I got to see most of my Mom’s family and hang out (and eat!), which I love to do. The whole weekend was wonderful, and so I welcome in the spring season/Easter celebration/spring equinox….the whole wonderful celebration of renewal and life that is this time of year!

P.S. Brian- this is what you get when you insist on ‘posing’ for me.

Leave a Reply

