It was a great idea when I first thought of it…

No one told me that pregnancy can bring about insomnia. Or that some of the most interesting things you will ever find on the internet can only be found between 2 and 5 am. No, seriously, try looking for the same sites during the day, and they’ve mysteriously disappeared- like fairies or my tax return. But in the middle of the night, Google is a gold mine of more random shit that you ever knew could come out of the human brain. Ditto with YouTube. Pure gold.

Examples:

29/31 by Garfunkel and Oates

Memebase.com

Funny or Die

Ok, so technically you CAN find any of these sites during the daytime, but that doesn’t change the fact that my best discoveries on the Webs have happened during bouts of late night/early morning web roaming. And in the middle of the night, any lifeline to the world at large, no matter how ridiculous, is a treasure to be held close to your throbbing, sleepless heart.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

A few years ago, I had the idea that I could write a blog and maybe even monetize it one day. Yup, I could get paid to write. Lots of people [say that they] do it, so jumping on that bandwagon should be easy! It seemed like a great idea at the time. It lasted all of three weeks before my attention wandered. Such is my life.

Grrr…….

Since then, I’ve had several great ideas, but none quiet as great as that one…ah, the best of intentions, and all that.  I’m not walking around thinking I’m Hemingway or anything, but you know how when you get an idea that truly resonates with you and you think you’d be good at it…and then realize that it’s a big world out there with lots of other people  trying the same thing? A little daunting. I truly do enjoy writing…a lot. So I’ve kept blogging, and enjoyed looking back over how my life has unfolded over the past few years. If I reach a point where I want to try and go more pro at writing, it will likely be after life has settled down a bit.

(I’m now 8 days out from my due date, FYI. Being preggo is just about the only thing I can do right now. That, and eat.)

But I do so like to share:

I’ve also found a few blogs that I enjoy reading (difficult to do, since I’m picky about the writing styles that I like), and would like to share:

Dooce.com

and

Swungover.com

Both fantastic writers who make me laugh all the time. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Now, for some visual treats. I teeter on the edge of motherhood, and the things that make me laugh now are totally different from 9 months ago (except for the movie TED. I’m pretty sure I still would’ve laughed my ass off at that one 9 months ago. Seth MacFarlane is a genius.) Here are some gems that I’ve stumbled across recently.

For your enjoyment:

Leave a Reply

