One day I’ll walk away

My work life is spent eyeball-deep in technology. 8+ hours per day, I’m on/in/surrounded by the Internet, and my livelihood depends on understanding the ebb and flow of this fluid, fickled Universe. So I’m not exactly a heavy lifter, and I’m pretty sure my ass is going to reflect this in about 10 years. But I can help support my family, and that’s a hell of a lot to be proud of. (Of which to be proud? Stupid grammar.)

But there are days when I would give anything to be able to unplug. Anything. I want to get off of Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and LinkedIn and just live life out in the world. I’m doing more than bitching about it- I”m actively working to position myself where I can transition into a different role within the same organization within the next few years. But until then, I’ve got my ear to the ground (okay, the computer), listening for the slightest change in social media happenings. Not complaining, just planning.

In the past few weeks, there have been several instances when I’ve made it a point to thank the Universe for something. And, without fail, every time I do this, sometime in the next 12 hours, the Universe tests my gratitude with something. Seriously, I’m getting to the point where I don’t want to say/pray anything. I’m making some god somewhere angry.  Vengeful little bastard.

eva with gangsta face

You talkin’ to me?

In other news, it’s apparently breeding season! Not for me- hell no. I’m still looking forward to sleeping past 5:30 am on a regular basis. It. Will. Happen. No, my various mom-friends are on round 2 or 3, constructing some kiddos. I’ve had about 4 let me know in the last month that they are wine-free for a while (that’s our code). So my hat is off to them and I’m looking forward to meeting some new little ones in 2014. It’s going to be a big year for friends, change and new beginnings.

Anyway, there’s a random collection of thoughts for your Monday. I’d like to sound off with a little bit of the Inspirational (don’t smite me, angry-Pan-god):

Screen Shot 2013-11-25 at 8.12.07 AM

Screen Shot 2013-11-25 at 8.06.40 AM

Leave a Reply

