Found Something Cool

Ask anyone in my family- when I find something cool or funny or touching (usually on the computer), I immediately drag people I value over to see it, in the hopes that they’ll get as much enjoyment out of it as I do. It’s my attempt to show love.

Sooooooo, I’ve written before about an absolutely inspirational spoken-word poet out of NYC named Sarah Kay. She has a fantastic TED talk on YouTube with her performing her poem If I Should Have A Daughter:

Last night I found out that Sarah and her partner in Project V.O.I.C.E. (coincidentally named Phil Kaye- no relation and they’re not dating/married) have a poem called When Love Arrives. It is a verbal medicine that washes over you. See for yourself:

That made my soul sigh with happiness. Then I found this:

Now THAT sort of insight is just my type of therapy. I became an instant fan of spoken word poetry last night- not just Sarah Kay, but of all of it. Sarah and Phil both have some amazing stand-alone poems that I highly, highly, highly recommend you take a few moments to listen to. They’re healing in that way that stories are healing.

And can’t we all use a little of that?

One thought on “Found Something Cool

Leave a Reply

