Learn All The Things!

My dad once told me to avoid deep thinking after midnight. “Any idea you have after midnight, no matter how brilliant it seems, is likely terrible.”

Experience has corroborated this: My idea to start a ‘Mommy Blog’- 5:18 am. Deciding to try knitting- 2:47 am. That haircut I got in college- 4:10 am.

Side note: This isn’t normally an issue, since I try to avoid being up any time between midnight and 7 am, just as a matter of principle. My little human alarm clock is absolutely reliable, and I’ve discovered that one can’t be a morning person and a night owl without working meth or Red Bull into the equation. Both will kill you. So I’m a morning person.

But while up late one night/early one morn with a head cold recently, I had an idea. Several, actually. All involved a computer. I decided I want to step up this blog- move it to my own domain and customize it more. I want to learn Illustrator and InDesign (graphic design programs). I want to learn CSS and HTML (computer coding languages). I want to get back into photography. I want to develop these skills so that I can grow the job I have into the job I want.champion

If you’re not familiar with any of the things I just listed, it’s the rough equivalent of deciding to teach myself advanced trigonometry, tap dancing and scuba diving at the same time, using only resources from Craigslist. It’s like taking three years worth of New Year’s Resolutions and trying to do them all…in two months. It’s a bundle of good intentions riding a speeding train with no brakes straight into Busy Town.

And I’ve got to do it. Professionally, it’s the next step. Personally, I’ve been wanting to do more with this blog for a while. The time is now, so off I go. I’m going to move this blog to a domain that I’ve got stored up. I’m going to figure out how to monetize and track stuff. And I’m going to start asking people I know to help me spread the word about this blog.

Not yet! Not yet- it’s not ready. But when it is, I’ll be asking for the help of anyone and everyone who enjoys my writing style.

In the meantime, I’m asking for some feedback- what sort of topics would you be interested in reading more about? Education? DIY? Current Events? Ice Cream reviews?

Please share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

